Reporting System

Implementation Profile for Xavier University

Submitted on October 28, 2008; last updated on September 12, 2016

Institution Information

Commitment Type Carbon
Basic Carnegie Classification Masters College
Control Private not-for-profit
Location Cincinnati, OH
Community Setting Large city
USDOE Climate Zone Not applicable
Current President or Chancellor's Name Michael Graham
Current President or Chancellor's Title President
Main Website
Sustainability Website
Additional Urls No information provided

Implementation Structure

Institutional Format Committee
Number of Individuals in Structure 11-20
Stakeholder Groups Represented Faculty, Students, Staff
Description A Climate and Sustainability Committee was appointed by the President Michael Graham S.J.and endorsed by the Academic Vice President and Provost Roger Fortin. Co-chairs Dave Lococo (Physical Plant) and Kathleen Smythe (Faculty, History) then assisted in the subdivision of the committee into the following groups: Tangible Actions, GHG Inventory, Institutional Action Plan, Communications, and Funding.

In 2012, Provost Scott Chadwick appointed Dr. Smythe to Senior Fellow for Sustainability, and appointed a new faculty co-chair, Dr. Nancy Bertaux of Economics, to the committee. Under the leadership of Bertaux and Lococo, the committee has divided in 2013 into topic work groups including: Food & Farming, Waste Management, Transportation, and Energy.

The committee meets monthly to assess progress toward ACUPCC goals.
Committees and Groups with whom Institution coordinates No information provided
Implementation Liaison's Name Nancy Bertaux
Implementation Liaison's Title Director, Economics, Sustainability & Society Program (ECOS)
Implementation Liaison's Department Economics, Sustainability & Society Program (ECOS)