ACUPCC Reporting System

Implementation Profile for University of New Hampshire

Submitted on November 15, 2007; last updated on July 13, 2015

Institution Information

Basic Carnegie Classification RU/H: Research Universities (high research activity)
Control Public
Location Durham, NH
Community Setting Rural
USDOE Climate Zone 5
Current President or Chancellor's Name Mark Huddleston
Current President or Chancellor's Title President
Main Website
Sustainability Website

Implementation Structure

Implementation Liaison's Name Jennifer Andrews
Implementation Liaison's Title Program Manager
Implementation Liaison's Department Sustainability Institute
Format of Structure Task Force
Number of Individuals in Structure 21+
Stakeholder Groups Represented Faculty, Students, Executive, Staff, Alumni
Description The Climate Education Initiative (CEI) has been coordinated by the UNH University Office of Sustainability since 1999. To facilitate action to address climate change across the university, a Climate Working Group was formed in 2002. In 2005, then UNH President, Ann Weaver Hart, formalized the working group by forming the UNH Energy Task Force (ETF). Current President, Dr. Mark Huddleston, has endorsed the ETF charter and formally charged the group with meeting the commitments of the ACUPCC.

Tangible Actions

1. Establish a policy that all new campus construction will be built to at least the U.S. Green Building Council's LEED Silver standard or equivalent.

Yes: UNH is committed to being as sustainable as feasible in its construction and renovation of buildings, including but not limited to following the intent of U.S. Green Building Council Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) in terms of current standards and practices. UNH has committed to establishing a process to insure new construction and major renovation projects achieve the equivalent of LEED silver standards. A formal process will be established and incorporated into the existing UNH Construction and Repair Standards and will be applicable to all new projects initiated once the standards have been modified.

Learn more about sustainable buildings at UNH:

2. Adopt an energy-efficient appliance purchasing policy requiring purchase of ENERGY STAR certified products in all areas for which such ratings exist.

Yes: Signed into policy in 2006 by the UNH Vice President for Research and Vice President of Finance and Administration, the UNH Energy Efficient Product Standard strongly recommends that members the UNH community purchase products that meet the specifications of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's ENERGY STAR Program. This program will be expanded to align with the language of the ACUPCC.

Learn more about energy efficient purchasing at UNH:

3. Establish a policy of offsetting all greenhouse gas emissions generated by air travel paid for by our institution.

No: No information provided.

4. Encourage use of and provide access to public transportation for all faculty, staff, students and visitors at our institution.

Yes: Under a framework of Transportation Demand Management (TDM), which seeks to reduce our use of single occupancy private vehicles, UNH takes a holistic approach that includes expanded free local & regional transit services, increased on-campus housing, development of improved transit and bicycle/pedestrian infrastructure, commuter services support of the Amtrak Downeaster regional rail services and inter-city bus, and ongoing educational and information programs aimed at providing expanded mobility without private vehicle use. With more than 1 million riders last year, UNH is the largest public transit provider in NH.

Learn more about sustainable transportation at UNH:

5. Within one year of signing this document, begin purchasing or producing at least 15% of our institution's electricity consumption from renewable sources.

Yes: In 2008, UNH will become the first university in the U.S. to use landfill gas as its primary energy source. UNH is now working with Waste Management of New Hampshire, Inc., to launch EcoLine, a landfill gas project that will pipe enriched and purified gas from Waste Management's landfill in Rochester to the Durham campus. The renewable, carbon-neutral landfill gas, from Waste Management's Turnkey Recycling and Environmental Enterprise (TREE) facility in Rochester, NH, will replace commercial natural gas as the primary fuel in UNH's cogeneration plant, enabling UNH to generate 80-85% of its electricity from a renewable source while providing heating and cooling to core campus buildings.

Learn more about sustainable energy at UNH:

6. Establish a policy or a committee that supports climate and sustainability shareholder proposals at companies where our institution's endowment is invested.

No: No information provided.

7. Participate in the Waste Minimization component of the national RecycleMania competition, and adopt 3 or more associated measures to reduce waste.

Yes: UNH has participated in the Organics component of RecycleMania in the past and will now begin to participate in Waste Minimization. Currently, UNH maintains a recycling program, a surplus department, and uses reusable envelopes for inter-office mail. UNH is in the early stages of implementing a Solid Waste & Environmental Management Program (SWEMP) which may address many more of the associated measures.

Learn more about sustainable materials management at: